

Maine Gubernatorial Races, 1974-2014

Of the past 11 races for governor in Maine, only two have been won by a majority vote, and those two were incumbents.

This means that in 9 of the last 11 elections, the winner received less than 50% of the vote. Five of the 11 winners had less than 40% of the vote.

Maine Gubernatorial Races 1974-2014

- 1974 James Longley (I) 39.7%
- 1978 Joseph Brennan (D) 47.8%
- 1982 Joseph Brennan (D) 61.9%
- 1986 John McKernan (R) 39.9%
- 1990 John McKernan (R) 46.7%
- 1994 Angus King (I) 35.4%

- 1998 Angus King (I) 58.6%
- 2002 John Baldacci (D) 47.2%
- 2006 John Baldacci (D) 38.1%
- 2010 Paul LePage (R) 37.6%
- 2014 Paul LePage (R) 48.2%

1974-2014: No majority in 9 of 11 races

